Meal Penalty - Managing and Cancelling (California)

Meal Penalty - Managing and Cancelling (California)

California clients may elect to have the system auto-add an extra hour of pay to hourly employees in order to automate the penalty process. The system will look to see if an employee has taken their lunch before the 5th hour, which means the Meal Penalty will kick in if no lunch has been initiated by 5.01 hours. If the employee has only a 6-hour shift, the Meal Penalty will still appear and will require the Meal Penalty to be "Cancelled" if the employee has waived the meal. This will also apply to employees who take a lunch within the first 5 hours but whose total shift exceeds 10 hours. In this case, the 2nd Meal Penalty can be waived. Below will outline how to monitor and manage the process of Cancelling Meal Penalty hours that should NOT be paid out during payroll. 

Below you can see that the "Exception" of Meal Penalty is showing us clearly where the Meal Penalty is occurring on the time entry sheet (RED ARROWS). If you click the trash can icon, you'd only be removing the alert of the exception and removing this from reportable functions. If you'd like to remove the hours to NOT be paid, you'd need to CANCEL the Meal Penalty. This is done by choosing the GREEN arrow to drop down under the "Meal Penalty" column on the line item the penalty that should be canceled. 

Now once you choose from the drop-down, the pop-up below will appear. From here if the first Meal Penalty should be waived, choose accordingly, but if this is for the second Meal Penalty (after 10 hours), cancel Meal Penalty 2. 

After cancellation, the hours should be updated on your Summary by Day screen. 

If an employee incurred more than on Meal Penalty for the day, the system will remove the second to ensure only one is paid to the employee. 

If any additional help is needed, please reach out to your assigned payroll specialist. 

    • Related Articles

    • California

      The state of California requires both a Withholding Tax ID and a State Unemployment Tax ID, both formats and links to apply are below. Withholding Tax ID Link to Apply: Agency Contact Info: ...
    • Cancelling Pre-Note

      If you have set up your account to require any new direct deposit to be set up as "Pre-Note", then the first time an employee is paid on their bank account, they will actually receive a live check, while we send a blank ACH file to confirm the ...
    • CA Sick Time Increase - 1/1/24

      Dear Clients, California's Governor Gavin Newsom signed SB 616 guaranteeing workers at least 5 paid sick days per year, up from the current 3 days, while also increasing the accrual and carryover amounts. SB 616 amends the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy ...
    • Manager Time Keeping Step By Step Guide

      This article will cover all details related to timekeeping, including profiles, timesheet edits, approvals, managing time change requests, and time-related reports. The video at the end of the article will walk through the employee experience leading ...
    • Tax Notice Process - Submit Ticket

      From time to time, you may receive a notice from the IRS or state agency you process payroll in. The notice may be for informational purposes or to asses a fee for late or inaccurate payment/filing. In order for Green Leaf to assist in resolving the ...