Termination Resolutions

Termination Resolutions

This article will cover the different resolutions that may appear when terminating an employee within the system. These resolutions will generally appear once you have selected the Terminate button from your to-do items to finalize the termination. 

Please be aware that this guide is not all encompassing and that the termination resolutions may be expanded in the future. If you have any questions regarding a specific resolution and its purpose or it is not covered here, please reach out to your HR Consultant or the hrtechsupport@greenleafbizsolutions.com email for more information.
‚Äč
Resolution List

Time Entries, Which Fall Past Termination Date: This indicates that there are time entries that fall past the employee's identified termination date.
  1. Ignore - This will leave the time entries as they are with no further action.
  2. Delete All Time Entries - This will delete any/all time entries that fall past the termination date.
  3. Delete All Except Time Off Entries - This will delete all time entries outside of time off related time entries that fall past the termination date.

Pending Time Off Request, Which Fall Past Termination Date: This indicates that there are time off requests that have not been addressed that fall past the employee's identified termination date.
  1. Delete All Requests - This is the only resolution and will essentially require you to delete the requests that have not been attended to.
    1. Please Note: If the time off needs to be addressed, it should be approved/rejected in the necessary report(s) before terminating the employee.

Pending Time Off Request, Which Fall Before Termination DateThis indicates that there are time off requests that have not been addressed that fall before the employee's identified termination date.
  1. Delete All Requests - This is the only resolution and will essentially require you to delete the requests that have not been attended to.
    1. Please Note: If the time off needs to be addressed, it should be approved/rejected in the necessary report(s) before terminating the employee.

Employee is Assigned as Manager: This indicates that the employee you are terminating is currently assigned to other employees as a manager.
  1. Ignore - This will leave the user assigned to the specified employees as their manager.
    1. Please Note: If this option is chosen, you should make updates to the employees they are assigned to soon after terminating the manager.
  2. Remove Manager Access - This will remove the user from all employees as their manager with no replacement.
  3. Replace Manager - This will remove the user from all employees as their manager and allow you to identify who they should be reassigned to.

Employee has Other Group Access: This indicates that the employee you are terminating is currently assigned to a custom group as a manager. This is access that is granted outside of manager permissions.
  1. Ignore - This will leave the user assigned to the specified employees as their manager. (Please Note: If this option is chosen, updates should be made to the group as soon as possible to avoid security issues.)
  2. Remove Group Access - This will remove the user from all groups as a manager. There is currently no option to replace managers within groups, so if someone else should be added as a manager over said group that update would need to take place manually.

Accruals Not Accrued up to Terminated Date: This indicates that the employee has not had their accruals re-calculated to accrue up to their identified termination date.
  1. Ignore - This will ignore the discrepancies and leave the employee's balances as they currently are.
  2. Calculate and Update - This will re-calculate the employee's accrual balances and update them up to their identified termination date.

Accruals Accrued Past Terminated Date: This indicates that the employee has had their accruals calculated past their identified termination date.
  1. Ignore - This will ignore the discrepancies and leave the employee's balances as they currently are.
  2. Rollback - This will rollback the employee's accrued balance to what they should have accrued up to their identified termination date.

Accruals Cannot be Paid Out: This indicates that the employee's accruals cannot be paid out due to conflicting information. This is generally caused by timesheet rules that are in place within your Timesheet Profile(s). To help resolve this, you should reach out to your Implementation or Payroll Specialist for assistance.
  1. Skip in Case of Exceptions - This will skip the accruals that need to be paid out in the case they are exceptions to being paid out.
  2. Skip - This will skip all accruals that cannot be paid out without any reference to exceptions.
  3. Retry - This will attempt to retry to payout the employee's accruals based on updates that were made outside of the termination process.

Effective Dated Badges, Which Fall Past Termination Date: This indicates that the employee has an effective dated badge that falls past the identified termination date. Please be aware that this does not affect simple badges.
  1. Ignore - This will ignore the future dated badge and leave it as is.
  2. Set Badge Effective End Date to Termination Date - This will end date the effective dated badge to be the identified termination date.

Assigned Objects (Assets and/or Vehicles): This indicates that the employee still has asset(s) and/or vehicle(s) assigned to their account.
  1. Ignore - This will ignore any asset(s) and/or vehicle(s) and leave them assigned to the employee's account.
  2. Remove Assigned Objects - This will allow you to remove the assigned asset(s) and/or vehicle(s) and return them to the company to be assigned to another employee.

Employee has Future Dated Benefit Plans: This indicates that the employee has benefit plans that have an effective date that takes place after their identified termination date.
  1. Ignore - This will ignore any benefit plans and leave them assigned to the employee's account.
  2. Delete All - This will allow you to delete the plans from the employee's account so that they are no longer showing in reporting. 
    • Related Articles

    • How to Terminate an Employee

      This article will cover the steps required to terminate an employee within the system. Green Leaf’s termination process typically consists of an administrator or manager initiating the termination, finalizing the process, and completing any steps ...
    • How to Assign Checklists

      Purpose This document outlines the process for Green Leaf clients of assigning a checklist to one employee or several employees at a time. Please be aware that this guide is not all encompassing and that the checklist settings are customized per ...
    • Missing Payroll E/D Code For 1 Record

      When pulling hours into payroll, if you receive the error  "Missing Payroll E/D Code For 1 Record" it may mean that there was a new earning/deduction code that was not tied to the payroll sync (the profile that brings hours into payroll). In the ...
    • Accruals (General Overview)

      Accruals would be set up in the format of a profile. Once profile(s) are built, the profile must then be attached to the employee or new hire in order to actually accrue time. Profiles To check on the profiles available, navigate to Hamburger Menu > ...
    • ACA Year-End Reporting Checklist

      As part of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) Module, employers are expected to review settings within their employee's profiles to ensure that all data is being tracked appropriately. The guidelines provided in this article will outline all of the areas ...